⋆ October Birchbox 2015 ⋆

IMG_0672

So I’ve been pretty excited about this month’s Birchbox as I’m still new to the whole subscription box thing, and this month saw us with a choice of two interesting boxes: a ‘back to basics’ box, and another compiled by guest editor Joanna McGarry, the associate editor of Stylist. As you can probably tell, I went for the Stylist Box, which turned out to be a bit of a mixed batch of items that will be great for this month as I’m going to a wedding, and a couple that I’m not so sure about. The whole box has quite a summery feel, which is strange for October, but let’s have a look…

IMG_0674

First up, the box is gorgeous. From the tiny picture in the email on my phone, I thought it was a watercolour make-up effect a la Fleur de Force, but it’s actually a crumbled eyeshadow effect.

IMG_0682

When Travelmate Sheet Mask | £25 for a pack of 4

“When your regular moisturiser just won’t do, this refreshing sheet mask makes light work of locking in moisture post long-haul flight / day on a sun lounger / trip to the slopes, softening skin and undoing damage”.

 So starting with the most glaringly obvious item that made me open the box and go “uhh…”. This is a sheet mask from a brand I’ve never heard of before, but as I mentioned in my mask post I’m a sheet mask junkie! As I usually get mine from Korea, I don’t know any brands over here so I’m excited to try this, but the price tag is a big steep considering I usually get good ones for about £1.50 each!

Sheet masks are great for rehydrating and soothing the skin, which can help in the nippy autumn weather, so I’m sure this will come in useful.

IMG_0686

Bioderma Sensibio H2O | £10.20

“Trusted by make-up artists the world over, this is the original Parisian micellar water used for fast and effective cleansing, without irritation.  A modern day essential.”

I wasn’t massively excited about this as I have a couple of big bottles hoarded away in my bathroom cupboard, but it’s nice to have a mini one to take with me on my weekend away. However, this was the first thing I noticed when I opened the box as it had leaked everywhere and was only half full!

Bioderma is an essential in my skin routine and great for removing make-up, dirt and grime before cleansing, but also light and non-sticky for a faster/impromptu wash. It’s a cult favourite for a reason!

IMG_0703

Rituals Yogi Flow Foaming Shower Gel | £8.50

“There’s a little bit of magic in this bathroom ally.  Watch as the gel instantly transforms into foam on contact with water, creating the most luxurious rose-scented wash, to perk up your early morning shower”.

 I like a good shower product, and I love a good rose product, so I immediately gave this Indian Rose and Sweet Almond Oil gel a squirt to try it (and got it all over the place). One pump gives you quite a lot, and it foams up dramatically with a very sweet but clean scent, and is definitely more floral rose than turkish delight.

As with all Rituals products, it feels very moisturising, and is great if you’re showering and don’t have a shower puff. I’ll be taking this away with me as you can’t always trust hotel shower gels!

IMG_0695

English Laundry No. 7 Signature for Her | £60

“Imagine a laundry line of white linen on a summer’s day – bottled.  Rose, geranium and creamy white flowers combine with musk to create an uplifting, wearable scent that’ll leave a spring in your step”.

I’ve been looking for ages for a new perfume, so this is a nice bonus touch to the box for me as it will give me a chance to see how it wears against my skin. Apparently this has been in Birchboxes before, but as a new subscriber it’s new to me!

It’s a small sample and definitely won’t go far, but is a nice handbag size for topping up so this will probably come with me to the wedding. On first impression, it’s very sweet – as are most of the scents in this October box – but has a slightly woody undertone that takes it away from being too princessy. Not my normal type of scent but still lovely.

IMG_0697

PARLOR by Jeff Chastain Smoothing Blowout Spray | £17

“A cult miracle tonic for blotting out frizz, protecting against heat damage, rendering hair more manageable and able to hold a style for longer.  Bonus points for the addictively peachy, woody scent”.

I don’t tend to blow dry my hair so I’m not sure how much use this will get, and I probably won’t repurchase it. On first try it seems nice enough, with a texture that is slightly tacky but not greasy. The smell is very similar to the Organix Kukui Oil Shampoo and Conditioner, which is a sweet, nutty peach kind of scent. Chances are I’ll use this a couple of times and forget about it, which is no fault of the product itself, just that my hair is pretty short and I don’t tend to blow dry!

IMG_0704

100% Pure Fruit Pigmented Lip Glaze | £19

“Enjoy a pop of guilt-free colour across lips with this little pocket-sized lipstick.  Formulated with avocado and cocoa butters to nourish, rich fruit pigments leave a burst of matte-finish, comfortable colour.”

Finally, this is my favourite product in this month’s box, and is the box’s full size product. The company is based in the US, and claims to be 100% natural and 100% cruelty free, and offers this soft lip glaze which glides on very smoothly compared to a lot of other “natural” products. It doesn’t feel sticky, lips feel soft, and it has a lovely matte finish. Different people have received different shades of this that are a bit too summery for my liking, but I’m very pleased with the one that turned up in my box!

This is the shade Rose Petal, and is the perfect Your Lips But Better shade for me. The colour reminds me a bit of MAC’s Twig or Revlon’s Sultry as an almost mauve-y pink with brown undertones.

*

So that’s it for this month’s box. It felt a bit strange as the whole box had a sort of summery feel in terms of scent, and there has only been one make-up product this month which is a little disappointing (I guess ‘make-up remover’ counts as the second). November is said to be an exciting box, so I’ve got slightly higher hopes to see how long I’ll stay with Birchbox.

How did you find this month’s box?
Are there any products here you’d like to try?
Can you recommend any other subscription boxes for me to try?

Until next time!

x

Leave a Reply

