Build your own Birchbox at Selfridges

No matter how long I’ve tried to deny it, I’m a new-product addict. I very quickly get bored of my routine products and start itching to try something new, so the number of Boots and Superdrug stores on my way to and from work are a danger to my bank account. I heard about Birchbox a while back, and it seemed like the solution to all my problems: a monthly subscription box filled with mini cult classics or emerging brands, packed in a beautiful box (did I mention my other weaknesses are miniature things and re-usable packaging?)

Thing is, I never quite got round to subscribing to Birchbox, so when one of my best friends told me about a Birchbox x Selfridges collaboration to celebrate Birchbox’s 5th birthday, where you could build your own box in store, we went along to see what all the fuss was about and if we could be tempted into subscribing.

After getting distracted by the wonder that is the Selfridges beauty department, we stumbled upon Birchbox’s area – tall cylinders filled with mini products, stacks of colourful boxes and beaming shop assistants with perfect eyebrows.

Boxes in hand, we spent a good long time deliberating over what we wanted, picking up testers and breaking our own hearts by having to make the final cut. With two choices from make-up, then one from each of skin care, body care, hair care, and a miscellaneous ‘treat’ item, the final result ends up being a well-rounded collection regardless of what you choose, and ensures you pick something you maybe wouldn’t have chosen before. My picks were as follows:

Pop Beauty Bright up your Life Eyeshadow Trio in Peach Parfait
This is an adorable trio with some very autumnal colours, including an iridescent silver colour (great as a highlight on pale skin), a rose gold, and a darker bronze. All three are very long-wearing, great colour pay-off and give a nice neutral look when used together.

Eyeko Fat Eye Stick in Gilt
Despite looking a bit like a shiny crayola, this is a versatile product with an interesting colour that’s almost like a metallic green/gold, so would do the trick as an eyeliner or eyeshadow for green or hazel eyes especially. Something I imagine Alexa Chung has in her make-up bag.

Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask
I’ve been meaning to try something from Origins for a while and if this is representative of the rest of their range then my bank account is going to take a hit. An intensely moisturising overnight mask that banishes all your dry and flaky bits with a soft, tropical scent.

Macadamia Professional Weightless Moisture Shampoo
A sweet, nutty smelling shampoo with an insane lather. I’ve only used this once, and wished I had the conditioner to follow it up. Gives bounce to my hair, which is very fine and prone to oiliness.

Cowshed ‘Gorgeous Cow’ Body Lotion
I honestly chose this based purely on my friend’s reaction when she smelt it. Floral and sweet, with ylang ylang, rose, palmarosa, lavender and linden blossom, this is the typical luxurious Cowshed lotion formula that leaves you super soft.

This Works Sleep Plus+ Pillow Spray
Now this I picked as my treat option, and I have absolutely zero regrets. There are 2 to choose from, and I went for this as it has a pure lavender scent, while the other was a blend of different calming scents. As a seasoned insomiac, I am more excited about this product than any other, and warrants a blog post of its own someday…

This is just a snapshot of the range of products available; others include a gorgeous Lord & Berry lip crayon, something from Bumble & Bumble, and a Sarah Chapman sheet mask. This event runs until 28th September, so head down to Selfridges in London and see for yourself!

For those of you who aren’t able to make it, Birchbox are also offering a series of discount codes and treats if you play their birthday bonanza online – click here to go to their website and click the banner at the top to play and you could get half price off your first subscription box.

Happy Birthday Birchbox! I am officially a convert, and look forward to my September box arriving in the post! 

x

One thought on “Build your own Birchbox at Selfridges

Leave a Reply

